DTS Surround vs DVD-A

S

Sonic

Audiophyte
<font color='#000000'>I am new to these technologies and I have a few DVD-A and DTS Surround discs. &nbsp;The 5.1 experience is enjoyable to say the least. &nbsp;As I do not have a DVD-A player I am wondering what the actual difference in sound quality is between DTS Surround and DVD-A? &nbsp;I do understand that there is 20 bit vs 24 bit transfer rate difference. &nbsp;As most DACs don't go above 20 bit, then what am I missing when listening to DTS Surround?</font>

<font color='#000000'>Check out this article if you haven't already. And then review some of the other articles that speak of DTS vs. SACD... between those you will glean a bunch of the differences.

[Edit: spelling]</font>

S

Sonic

Audiophyte
<font color='#000000'>Thanks for the heads up. &nbsp;I did read the DD vs DTS article earlier and found it helpful in understanding DTS. I guess I am just trying to find rational proof that would elevate DVD-A above DTS Surround for practical purposes.</font>

<font color='#000000'>In a practical sense, DTS will afford you the ability to utilize a digital connection from your DVD player to your receiver without having to worry about bass management issues (aside form your receiver settings.)

But there are lots of new DVD-A devices and receivers coming out now that have workarounds for that problem (eventually Firewire connections should resolve the issue, though I have no idea what benefit that has [to the RIAA] over coax or optical.)</font>

P

PierreIsHere

Enthusiast