Denon AVR 1905 + Polk surrounds

A

akwizeguy

Audiophyte
Alright, Ima admit it before I begin, I am a newbie in the home theater world. I do know a thing or two about steros in general from my expierences in car audio. But I was looking into my first HT setup, and considering the following:

Reciever: Denon AVR-1905 <---Refurbished from Dakmart.com

Fronts: Polk Audio R50

Surrounds: Polk Audio RT15i

Center: Polk Audio CSi20

Subwoofer: Polk Audio PSW202

I mean I know Polks arent the best sounding, but the R50s are on sale from Frys, and looking at the specs and retail price it looks like a very good deal. The surrounds are an older Polk series given from my brother. How do the speakers look to you guys?

My main concern is with the reciever. My price range for the reciever is $200-350 because college is expensive. And from all my research, it led to this unit. I emailed Dakmart about the warranty and it is a 1 year. 3 month from Denon, and the remaing period up to a year will be from Dakmart. They will pay Denon for the unit to be fixed i guess is how it works. The price is exceptionally low for the quality of a Denon. But what are your opinions on refurbs? I mean is this a good surefire bet, or are there other recievers not refurbed that will suit my needs better? I mean in the car audio world, usually the general procedure is spend 85% on the amp and the rest on the sub. Does this go true for recievers and the Home Theater world? Thanks alot in advance guys!

Z

zumbo

Audioholic Spartan
This is the deal. If we advise to go with the refurb and it breaks, that will not be good. If we advise to go with the Polks and you don't like them, that will not be good.