Decent ARC extender?

C

caustic386

Audioholic Intern
Im looking for a wireless (preferred) or IP-based ARC extender. I'm quite new to home theater - is it as simple as getting a HDMI 1.4 extender? I'm pretty sure my TV doesn't support eARC, its a 4K/60Hz Samsung from about 8 years ago, no 10bit or 120Hz support. Sorry I don't have the model # handy, but I'll certainly dredge it up if needed.

Wireless is much more convenient, but I can make an IP-based solution work. I do not need to extend the image itself, just the audio. Use case is that my optimal TV placement is about 30ft from pre-existing in-wall speaker cable termination. No clean way to get a cable across the living space :(

Thank you!

nathan_h

nathan_h

Audioholic
Why use ARC when using optical out of the TV will be more reliable, easier and cheaper?

If you are using stereo sound, then you don't even need to do optical, you can just use the two channel output from the TV into a wireless transmitter. https://www.svsound.com/products/soundpath-wireless-audio-adapter is one example.

If you must have surround sound output from the TV, the optical is required (or ARC). In that case, I would use something like: https://www.parts-express.com/Toslink-and-Digital-Coaxial-Audio-Extender-Over-Ethernet-up-to-330-ft.-180-1142

Personally my last choice would be ARC, since most extenders and wireless options have limited, unreliable or often non existent support for ARC. And ARC is more fiddly than all the other options, even when hard wired, anyway. (vis CEC issues, etc)

C

caustic386

Audioholic Intern
Thnks, it didn't even occur to me to try TOSlink. I do indeed want multichannel, 7.2 is ideal but 5.1 at a minimum