Cutting the cord...

moves

moves

Audioholic Chief
Is the BD subscription through Netflix? I live in Canada so I don't have that option.

Hi there, welcome to modern television! ;)

Joking/trolling aside, I ditched the cable tv subscription a long time ago and I haven't looked back. To me, paying for shows on Netflix (subscription) or iTunes is worth it even if purely for the absence of advertisement!

In my current setup, I have an appleTV (3rd gen, I don't play games and it's been fine so far), I have an HBO Now subscription and a Netflix streaming+Blu-ray subscription as well (yes, I also have a Blu-ray player and a Mac mini HTPC with all my DVDs ripped while the discs themselves take on the dirt in the basement). I got the BD subscription mostly because I got tired of iTunes' US movie rental restrictions (the fact that you only have 24 hours to watch a movie is incompatible with my less than 2 year old kid who seldom gives us 2 full hours to sit down – French rentals allow 48 hours!). The other advantage of the disc rentals is that things come out fairly quickly, especially compared to Netflix streaming.

One thing though, I very rarely watch sports, usually just the soccer World Cup every four years but that streamed to the Apple TV so that worked out fine.

Cheers!
Alex.

J

jmalecki05

Junior Audioholic
I made the conscious system to not get cable when I bought my home 7 years ago and never regretted the decision. Aside from having more channels than days in the year, I don't find the value in television / media packages, eg. triple play. Plus, random TV is distracting.

I detest commercials; I think I am smart enough to seek information on a product as apposed to slanted advertisements telling me how to think.