Contemplating AR.com speakers

J

joetech

Junior Audioholic
I built several speakers about 25 years ago and I am considering doing it again. I have a 15w/ch intergrated Amp I just replace but still works OK. My college student daughter has a new apartment that could use some tunes. I am a High School shop teacher so finding good woodworking equipment to use is not a problem.
After looking over many designs on the internet the Ed Frias AR looks good (see Madisound.com for details). Efficient and small with some great reviews on sound quality. The 6" woofers don't get down too far and a Sub is usually recommended, but the building's owner is just below her apt so I don't want her getting evicted. Of course I couldn't possibly build it exactly like the plans call for. ;)
I am thinking of placing the port in the front and using a slot instead of a round port (holding the same cu.in) I want to do this because it A. I think it looks cool and B. I have bunch of donated Oak that would look great and daughter's apt is small and speakers will have to go right up against the wall.
I posted to another site and got a very informed response from a well known designer that going from a port to a slot isn't that big of a deal.
I am also going to make the box ID of 1/2 inch MDF and cover with 1/4 Oak ply because A. I have plenty of 1/2 inch MDF lying around and 1/4 Oak ply is fairly cheap. The back would be 3/4 inch MDF. The front baffle would be 3/4 Oak plank that was take out of an elementary school bookcase. I ran it through the planner and its very clean except for a few screw holes that I can work around. This would be attached to the 1/2 MDF front. I would countersink the drivers into the Oak. This give a front baffle thickness of about 1 1/4 inch.