G

gayanw

Audiophyte
Hi All

I am new to HT.
Recently I have bought a Yamaha RX-V550 receiver and I am planning to connect two subwoofers(YST-SW320 * 2) to it, but my Receiver (RX-V550) has only one sub woofer output. How can I connect my two subs to it? Please Help

Thanks
:confused:

toquemon

toquemon

Full Audioholic
subwoofer 1: connect it to the dedicated sub out of your amp.
subwoofer 2: connect it to the front A speakers terminals of your amp, then connect your main speakers to the subwoofer out.
I think this is a better way to do it than using a Y connector.

gene

gene

Audioholics Master Chief
Administrator
subwoofer 1: connect it to the dedicated sub out of your amp.
subwoofer 2: connect it to the front A speakers terminals of your amp, then connect your main speakers to the subwoofer out.
I think this is a better way to do it than using a Y connector.
Actually this is not a preferred way of doing it since sub 1 will have sub level control via the receiver, but sub2 will not. Also this can cause bass management / phase issues especially if the mains are set to large and the delay times between the mains and sub are set differently.

I would suggest using a y connector to connect both subs to the receiver LFE output. It should have plenty of drive to handle both.

toquemon

toquemon

Full Audioholic
Ok, i apologize for my ignorance. Gayanw, Listen to Gene. But this leads me to this question: If i connect two subwoofers via a Y connector would i still getting the 6 db of bass boost?. I read somewhere that connecting a sub in his dedicated output and the other sub to the speaker A terminal i would induce the following:

1. 3db of bass boost inherent to the conexion of a subwoofer.
2. 3db of bass boost provoked by the conexion of a sub in conjunction with the front speakers (assuming both subs are equal in power)
3. The normal bass produced by the front speakers

Points number 2 and 3 would lead to a better defined bass extension.