concrete enclosures?

S

sparky77

Full Audioholic
I have a friend that is a master mason and is interested in hifi, he had an interesting question pertaining the use of concrete for a speaker enclosure. The design would involve acrylic coating on the inside of the enclosure to deal with the pouressness of the concrete and a marbalized finish on the outside (which I think would look pretty cool), and of course a lot of damping inside to deal with the reflections, and the front baffle would be heavy wood attatched with t-bolts set in the concrete.

Any Ideas or opinions?

J

Johnd

Audioholic Samurai
I have a friend that is a master mason and is interested in hifi, he had an interesting question pertaining the use of concrete for a speaker enclosure. The design would involve acrylic coating on the inside of the enclosure to deal with the pouressness of the concrete and a marbalized finish on the outside (which I think would look pretty cool), and of course a lot of damping inside to deal with the reflections, and the front baffle would be heavy wood attatched with t-bolts set in the concrete.

Any Ideas or opinions?

Yeah, how would you move it, crane? :p

If that's your cup of tea, go for it. Certainly a novel idea. I've always understood that the cabinetry was good for more than containment of the speakers, it also supplies some coloration and resonance. How would concrete effect the coloration of a subwoofer? I don't know, but I can't imagine that it be good...or forgiving. Probably not all that different than a glass enclosure. Try it, but perhaps first with a cheap woofer...just to see. Post back if you would with any results. Maybe we'll be pleasantly surprised.

WmAx

WmAx

Audioholic Samurai

Any Ideas or opinions?