S

starsurfer

Audiophyte
Hi sound lovers,

I'm a freshman in this universe and need some advice on choosing speakers, my room is about 40m2 (forty square meters) (8mx5m). I was thinking about Klipsch RF-82 or B&W 684, but some friends say it may be too much to my room. If you could give me some expert advice I really appreciate.

Thanks in advance for your replies,

Starsurfer

BoredSysAdmin

BoredSysAdmin

Audioholic Slumlord
what's your budget and what type of system are you trying to build? 2.0 or 5.1 ?
What equipment do you own now?

jliedeka

jliedeka

Audioholic General
Your answer to the above questions would help a lot. Given the size of your room, some smallish towers backed by a sub (or two) would be good. I won't impose my brand preferences on you. There are a lot of good speakers at various price points that would work. That recipe would be fine for a 2.0 or the basis of a surround system.

The advantages of augmenting speakers with one or more subs is that you can put less stress on your amplifier/receiver and that you can position subs to lessen room modes which are inevitable with bass frequencies. Asking your left/right speakers to handle bass may not necessarily overstress an amp but the best spots in the room for bass rarely coincide with where you put your speakers for best imaging.

Jim

S

starsurfer

Audiophyte
Thanks for replying. I'm building from scratch, the budget is around $2500 for two front speakers and amp, but later I will buy more stuff to make it a 5.1 system. I will use for music (50%) movies+tv (30%) games (20).

R

rijaak

Audiophyte