Cerwin Vega Speaker Upgade

S

shadowfayre

Enthusiast
I have a Cerwin Vega center channel (HT-CTR) speaker... old for todays standards I guess. It is only 4 Ohms and seems that the majority here states I should have 8 ohms. Anyways, I have the Yamaha 2500 on order (should be here tomorrow). The thing that I dont like, is that it does not support banana plugs. The sound seems to be fine, but then again, I am no expert. My thought is just to replace the terminals, but being 4 Ohms, should I replace it instead? CVs at least at the time I purchased this, was good quality.

mulester7

mulester7

Audioholic Samurai
.....now that the name Cerwin Vega has been mentioned....I have a friend who had some of the larger Cerwin Vega 3 element speakers 10 or 12 ago....there was magic in them to me....I had a small pair of CV one time that really sounded good for a bedroom system.....real good....if you run across an old pair for sale cheap, you might have a use for them....tell the seller you'll need to hear the speakers, or anything used for that matter, perform....point it out to him if it would only require rca's or wire, and tell him you'll bring whichever if he'll spring for a cup of electricity....signed, got burned once spambot....Mr. Spambot to you sorry tin-eared smelly heatherns....

S

shadowfayre

Enthusiast
Ok, that did not really answer the question... Should I be concern with upgrading the speaker since it is only 4 Ohms, or should that be ok? If is ok, where I can purchase a replacement connection so it supports Banana plugs?

Thanks,

Takeereasy

Takeereasy

Audioholic General