Center and subwoofer are not working?

88turborx7

Audiophyte
Hello, I am a total noob at home theater, this is my first purchase. I have a Yamaha RX-V471 connected to two Polk Monitor 70 Series II floor speakers (left & right), a Polk CS2 Series II center speaker and a Polk PSW10 subwoofer. I am pretty sure all is connected properly, except maybe the sub. There is a left & right plug input on the sub and I only have one output for the sub from the receiver. I was all excited to try the system out so I played the Transformers movie, something with a lot of action. I thought the sound was OK, nothing more. I played a few more movies before I noticed that there is no sound whatsoever coming from the center or the sub! On the front of the receiver I can see that only the left and right speakers are lit up. I used the YPAO microphone thing to calibrate the sound and when I test for sound through the GUI, each speaker and the sub makes noise, but that is all, nothing during playback....very frustrating and I don't know what the problem is. Is it because I have no rear speakers that I am not getting any sound?

Adam

Adam

Audioholic Jedi
Welcome to the forum!

The issue could be in your settings on the receiver, or the settings on whatever you used to play Transformers. So, two questions:
1. What were you using to play Transformers (e.g. blu-ray player, streaming from Netflix)?
2. How do you have whatever you were using to play Transformers connected to the Yamaha (e.g. HDMI, optical cable, RCA cables)?

88turborx7

Audiophyte