D

davidmore

Enthusiast
All,

I have a collection of about 1500 CDs (98% classical) and want to store them on my computer - ultimately to have the files on a music server.

My experience so far is that for classical music there are real problems naming the .mp3 or whatever files and organising them sensibly.

I wonder how people recommend going about the naming / arrangement task.

Disk space is not an issue - am ripping are 320kbps to optimise quality.

Any advice would be appreciated. (Best software to rip with, which codec is best, how best to lay out directores in classical collections etc)

Thanks

David

M

mustang_steve

Senior Audioholic
I just organize by disc.

Maybe it's just me, but I like having my MP3 archive seem like a virtual CD rack.

C

corey

Senior Audioholic
LAME for an encoder, Exact Audio Copy for a ripper. I think you can get both at the link WmAx posted.

S

samNOISE

Audioholic Intern
PC Issues

A note about the PC itself. I'm a certified PC tech and must stick my nose in insofar as suggesting that you keep the 'tool' itself in mind as well. Before you start your ripping session, it would be a great idea to rip to a secondary hard disk drive. This will partially alleviate potential pauses in the ripping process as the operating system caches data from ram to drive. This can manifest itself as hiccups or drops in the final product.

Also, do the rip on a ‘clean’ PC: no spyware, ad-ware, loads of TSRs in the startup menu. Defragment the hard disk drive to start things off, and thereafter, reboot every few dozen ripped CDs.

I see loads of PCs each day, and the number one problem, aside from virus / worm / spyware / trojans…, is that folks have tonnes of crap running in the background on their PCs and then relate stories to me about their MP3 rips / burns exhibiting audio anomalies.

Andrew D.
www.cdnav.com

GlocksRock

GlocksRock

Audioholic Spartan