Car Audio Upgrade Q&A...

G

gproductions

Audiophyte
I'm a newbie to the sound world but I do appreciate great full sound.

One of my latest thoughts is to upgrade my car audio more (2011 Subaru Legacy) by upgrading from the OEM speakers with 6.5" component speakers in front and 6.5" coaxial connected to a amplifier I could fit under driver seat.

I made some small changes already like upgrading my head unit to a JVC double din (forgot model number) and installing a SoundOrdinance (under the seat subwoofer) that has greatly enhanced the experience.

I have so many questions I don't know where to begin!

What makes a good amplifier?
What makes a good speaker?
What speakerwire will I need?
What amp wiring kit is good?
Will I need a capacitor?
Will I need a sound deadening material on doors like Dynamat or NVX? Does that stuff work or is it just a gimmick?

I figure my budget for parts is $800. This doesn't include installation. Hoping to do at least some install myself to save money.

Any suggestions or comments would really help me. Thanks!

Is this something I can do myself or should I have professionally installed?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ARES24

ARES24

Full Audioholic
In order;

A great deal of science and patience

*see above

Depends on the amount of power you are putting through them, don't bother wasting money on 'fancy' ones.

Ask an installer what he would use (I am not well versed in this area)

Very unlikely unless you are doing this for competitions or are trying to make yourself deaf.

Sound deadening materials in a vibrating car... I wouldn't waste the money. Trying to achieve that level of HiFi just isn't going to happen.

Changing out the speakers in your car might not provide you with the gains you are looking for IMO. Any one else that has asked me what to do in car audio I have replied with; A decent sub and maybe a new head unit.

JohnnieB

JohnnieB

Senior Audioholic