Can this be done for 3-4k?

M

Mrhappysuncle

Enthusiast
Hello all, I'm fairly new to this, so I'd appreciate your input. I'm finishing my basement and will be making one room a dedicated home theater. Here's the details:

Room - 27' x 13' x 8' high

We watch 60% TV (Comcast HD), 30% DVD movies and 10% Xbox using HD connection.

I would like to do in-wall speakers (6.1 or 7.1) and possibly 2 subs; one of which I already have (powered 100w KLH).

Also a projector, receiver, screen, cables and any extras like an HDMI switcher.

I would apreciate your suggestions. And would $3-$4k be enough for a decent setup?

Thanks

majorloser

majorloser

Time to dig deep in the wallet!

Let's start with some of the basic info first:

Could you give us a little sketch of the room that would include your preferred seating arrangment? And maybe a description (doors, windows, etc)? Do you plan on using the projector with ambient lights (light control is an issue)?

I'm going to say "YES" it can be done (tough project). Just be aware that in-walls can be a little more pricey and require a LOT more pre-planning. You also don't want to skimp on speakers if you are making big holes in the drywall for them. You might be better off looking at small bookshelves mounted on the wall. That's a fairly large room to fill with sound.

If you are planning on using the 13 foot wall as the projection wall, a 100" to 110" 16x9 screen should work. Buy a fixed screen if this will be the primary method of viewing.

In that price range I'd look at the Optoma H-72 or the Sanyo PLV-Z4 (both 720P). There are some good deals at www.projectorpeople.com for Audioholics member
(see thread http://forums.audioholics.com/forums/showthread.php?t=19180)

Forget the sub for now (future project). Buy an entry level receiver for now with plans to upgrade later (budget allowing). Buy good quality wire for inside the wall (UL CL-2 rated).

J

JP_Silver_S2k

Audioholic Intern