1642parkerr

Audiophyte
Hi,

This could be a COMPLETLY dumb question, if it is feel free to tell me. I've looking into getting a new stereo system, but am sorted of on a tight budget (Im a college student). I don't know all that much about home system, but do know a thing or two about cars. I was wondering, could I take quality car speakers, build on box around them, and mount them to my wall? I can't see why it wouldn't work, but then again.... Would it sound bad, better, would it matter? Could I use three or four way car speakers instead of compenent? Same with a subwoofer? What about power? If I used a car amplifier could I convert it to 120v power? Or would I be better off with a house amplifier/reciever. I'm sure I would need a house reciever, but where can I get one at a decent price? ANY HELP would be fantastic.

Cheers

M

markw

Audioholic Overlord
Sorta

Well, you could use car speakers and build an enclosure around 'em, but enclosures are (should be) carefully designed to fit the speaker and the room they will be playing into, otherwise they will not sound good. IOW, you can't just slap 'em into just any box and expect decent sound. And, enclosures designed for the car are jut that ...designed for the car's fairly small environment, not a room.

As for the electronics, by the time you procure a 12 converter beefy enough to power them, you will have spent more than had you simply purchased a home unit, and the home unit will sound better and have more of the features you would probably want in a home unit.

...you don't have to spend a fortune to get decent home sound anymore.

As for where to get this stuff, where do you live? (US, Canada, Europe, Big City, Sticks, that kinda stuff

Last edited:
skizzerflake

skizzerflake

Audioholic Field Marshall