Can any headphone be turned balanced?

S

SIDDHI

Audiophyte
Audio newbie here.

I recently bought a 1More triple driver over-ear headphone along a Fiio Q1 mkII portable dac/amp.
The headphones came with their stock cables, 2.5mm for each cup and a single 3.5mm on the other end.
The Fiio dac/amp has 2 headphone inputs, 1x3.5mm unbalanced and 1x2.5mm balanced.

Now, if i would buy a cable with the 2.5mm jack termination on both ends and plug them in their respective places, would it turn my headphones to balanced? Is it that straightforward or im missing something?

I already contacted 1More about that and they said it should work but they weren't sure... which is odd to have such an answer from the manufacturer himself!

If anyone could shed some light on that issue, is highly appreciated.

B

B SUBASCHANDRA BOS

Enthusiast
It will no be a balanced connection, only thing with the 2.5mm connection is that they will have a separate ground connection each.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

K

kenwstr

Audioholic Intern
Agreed, it seems most unlikely, as I don't know of any connector of that type being used for balanced audio.
However, I have to assume the OP has a reason to suspect a balanced connection.
So, it's hard to be certain without knowing more or testing, sometimes non standard connectors can be used for other things. RCA for S/PDIF coaxial for example when this clearly should be 75 ohm BNC.
If I owned this and had documentation claiming balanced, I'd do some investigation and testing.

A balanced connector requires 2 contacts for each channel (Minimum of 4 contacts)
Optionally, there may be provision for a ground shield. 1 common contact or 2 for separate channel shields.

It is very easy to change headphones from unbalanced to balanced operation.