building first HTS, starting with HTR-5660

C

cagey

Enthusiast
<font color='#000000'>I'm an audio novice, finally replacing our very old receiver and speakers. I've listened to some receivers, and have decided on the Yamaha HTR-5660. However, I haven't a clue on what to do for speakers.

I've gone to Best Buy and CircuitCity and listened to JBLs and Infinity's, and right now I'd say I'm leaning toward the Infinity HTS20 package.

However, I'd be glad to spend a little more if it meant a significantly better system (but still need to keep the total on speakers below $800 for now), and am certainly open to components, maybe even using some of my cheap existing speakers (not the passive sub, and I don't have a center) for now.

If I buy components, my understanding is that I should focus on the center and the sub, and make sure I can add voice-matched mains for the speaker, either now or in the future.

I've also read that, in the sub, I should look for front-firing, and that its response should be below 30 Hz?

The room is 16x16, carpeted. The system is mainly for me, since everyone else likes what we have (we've had the current stuff over 15 years, and it's just thrown together). Of course, I think they'll love it, too, when they hear the difference.

As for usage, I'd say 15% music, the rest watching DVDs and television (and the kids will want to connect their PS2, I'm sure). I know I want good sounds, great special effects, but not a mushy, boomy bass.

I did see a lot of Harman Kardon speakers in their ebay store, but I haven't seen any locally to hear. &nbsp;Are they even decent speakers? .

Oh, since the receiver is 6.1, I'd like to go ahead and get 6.1 or 7.1, but the rear center can be added later.

I just read that the Yamaha YST-SW315 is a good sub, as is the Polk PSW450?

Suggestions? &nbsp;Advice? &nbsp;I'm totally lost, but looking forward to hearing a real system!</font>

Yamahaluver

Yamahaluver

Audioholic General