Building a house - help a newbie with the audio please

D

drjordan

Enthusiast
Hello. I'm very new to learning about high-end home audio. So first let me tell you what I have. My main components are a Harmon-Kardon AVR 225 receiver, a Phillips (I think) progressive scan DVD player, and a Sony 300-disc CD player. I have a pair of Bose 301 speakers for the front loudspeakers. I have a 12" Bose subwoofer that is pretty old, but I like it (it’s a stand-alone sub; it’s not a part of some all-in-one package). The sub is one that you go from your receiver front right and front left outputs into the sub, then out of the sub into the front speakers (if that matters). I don't currently have a center channel speaker or surround sound speakers that I’m using.

I’m planning on keeping all of my components. I would like to keep as many of my speakers as I can, but if I need to upgrade all of them, let me know. I’m looking for a system that will be good for a room that’s roughly 15x17. I can buy some floor-standing speakers, but I would prefer bookshelf and my sub. I need to buy a new center channel and surround sound speakers.

In addition, I want to put speakers throughout my house. I want a set of speakers in each bedroom and bathroom and a pair of outdoor speakers for the back deck. I would prefer, actually my fiancé would prefer in-wall speakers. I would prefer the speaker with the best sound quality for the money that can be out of the way or it looks nice enough to be seen. We’ve not yet started to build, so my options are wide open. This will all be factored into the cost of the house so it’s a little difficult to give a specific price. I don’t want junk, but I don’t want to add an extra 10% on to the cost of the house. Somewhere in between would be fine ($1K, $2K?).