Budget $1000 theater system

K

Kenny Kim

Audiophyte
I'm a newbie and sorry I couldn't get definite answer from research.

I have Benq w1770 and screen ready.
Time for receiver and speakers.

I was looking to get Onkyo receiver with Bose acoustimass 10 but it seems people disappointed with Bose sounds quality for the price.

My budget is around $1000.00 for the speaker system and about $200~$300 for receiver.
I'm looking to get 5.1 system.

What would you recommend? I will mainly watch movie and TV. Oh and Pandora music.

Thank you very much!

lsiberian

lsiberian

Audioholic Overlord
Are you willing to save up more if you could get world class speakers? Would you be willing to have a world class stereo setup and add to that world class setup over time?

I get the idea you want an epic theater experience and if you build your system properly over time you can definitely have that. Speakers in your price range will certainly do the job, but I think fantastic 2-channel setup destroys a mediocre 5.1 setup

rojo

rojo

Audioholic Samurai
Last edited:
K

Kenny Kim

Audiophyte
Thanks for the reply.
so Fluance XLBP goes around the back?
Wave for the front?

Thanks

rojo

rojo

Audioholic Samurai
Yep. Bipolar speakers give a somewhat nebulous surround effect -- not as focused as monopoles. They're meant to bounce the sound from the surround effects channels all around. Bipolar speakers wouldn't be desirable for native 5.1 channel music, but for movies they're great.

If you plan to enable virtual surround modes to make all your speakers play stereo content, then forget the Fluance bipoles and get 5 of the WaveCrest speakers instead. (Or just go sit in your car and listen. Same difference.)

If your listening position doesn't have a wall behind it, you'll probably want to use the WaveCrest speakers in the rear for more flexible mounting options. The Fluance speakers are meant to be wall-mounted.