"Breaking In Speakers"

L

Loose4Bruce

Audioholic Intern
<font color='#000000'>A salesperson at a big box electronics store said that new speakers must be broken in.
Is this true or was he feeding me a line?</font>

B

bob griffiths

Audiophyte
<font color='#000000'>There are lots of theorys about this .
All i can tell you is when i worked in retail in the uk whenever we got a brand new pair of speakers in for demonstration use we always placed the pair face to face with one out of phase then left a CD on over night playing varied loud music material.In the morning when connected up correctly the speakers sounded much better and hense we sold more.
I even found on several occations that customers noted that our set of whatever brand of speakers sounded better than in another store with exactly the same equipment(in a dedicated dem room).Now the room has a massive difference to how speakers sound but this running in may have been another reason.</font>

L

Loose4Bruce

Audioholic Intern
<font color='#000000'>WOW......That's interesting.
Why one out of phase and why face each other?

I guess what I also want to know is if cranking new speakers right out of the box will do any damage to them.......if the &quot;breaking in&quot; theory has any merit.</font>

S

Sounds Simple

Junior Audioholic
<table border="0" align="center" width="95%" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tr><td>
Loose4Bruce : <font color='#000000'>WOW......That's interesting.

I guess what I also want to know is if cranking new speakers right out of the box will do any damage to them.......if the &quot;breaking in&quot; theory has any merit.</font>
<font color='#000000'>You wire them out-of-phase so that the drivers are moving in the opposite direction - one moving forward while the other one moves backwards. By placing them about facing each other, there is little noise in the room and, in theory, may accelerate the process by maximizing the &quot;push-pull&quot; process.