Best projector and screen options

Z

Zack

Audiophyte
Hi folks! I'm fairly new to the projector scene and just bought a house with a theater room. Pretty cool but all the old equipment goes! Here's what I know it had:
- Panasonic ae3000 projector
- 11' da lite perforated screen
- not sure the mounting distance but will know soon.

My questions:
- what are the top 3 projectors you would recommend ($ then $$ then $$$)? I want a great picture (no light in this room), min maintenance and ideally 3D/smart/wifi.

- what's my best bet on finding a good price on an 11' perforated screen?

Thanks all! Appreciate you supporting a newbie.

Zack

Z

Zack

Audiophyte
One addition, the speakers do stay and the center channel is directly behind the screen. I can relocate it if you think it is worth that to save $1k vs a perforated screen

fuzz092888

fuzz092888

Audioholic Warlord
As far as projectors go what's the budget? New only? Used an option?

Sony makes great PJ's and I'd pick it over the Panny. I have a used JVC and I love it. The JVC's are tremendous PJ's, but the Sony's are no slouch by any means.

Unless you plan on putting a TV in there as well, your best bet will always be a fixed frame screen, which will also reduce cost as well. Now you mention a perforated screen, but you don't say whether it's going to be fixed or motorized.

As far as AT (acoustically transparent) vs not, I don't think there's a huge difference as far as performance goes with the right screen material. I've only had Elite Screen motorized screens, but I've had AT and regular and I don't notice a huge difference in performance. Meaning the AT screen does a great job with a nice tight weave.

Z

Zack

Audiophyte
Thanks! I'm up for used. And certainly will be fixed screen. Thanks!

Z

Zack

Audiophyte
What do you think about Elite screens sable 138" in AcousticPro 1080P3 for $969?

Can't post links yet apparently

BMXTRIX

BMXTRIX

Audioholic Warlord