Axiom Speakers - Reputation?

J

Jim Anchower

Audiophyte
<font color='#000000'>Hi all,

Just another audio newbie here.  I've been poring over this site for a couple days now, in an effort to help me decide what to buy for my first HT system.

I was wondering if anyone has any firsthand experience with Axiom speakers, or knows anything about this company.  From their website, it looks like they only sell direct; I didn't see any kind of store locator or anything.  How would one listen to them first in that case?  Or is their reputation good enough so one can be assured of getting good equipment?

A couple things I like about them are 1) they have pre-defined sets that go together, and 2) they have a variety of available finishes.  While I don't have to worry about WAF, personally I would like something other than plain black boxes scattered about the room.

I am considering the Epic 50 and the Epic 60.

Thanks everyone for a great site!

Jim</font>

J

Jim Anchower

Audiophyte
<font color='#000000'>I called Axiom yesterday and it turns out they do have dealers where you can go to listen to the units. &nbsp;The nearest one to me is in a neighboring city about an hour and half away.

Jim</font>

<font color='#000080'>Usually they are volunteers who are willing to let people come in and listen to the system in their home (I am a volunteer for the Myrtle Beach area, for example).

As for the system, the Epic 50 will probably sound great, but if you can, get the VP150 center. I would opt for that even over the M60ti upgrade.</font>

G

<font color='#000000'>Axiom has a few dealers in Toronto, but they do seem to be falling by the wayside. &nbsp;I can't explain why. &nbsp;They are very nice speakers, you can hear the quality that they have staked their reputations on. &nbsp;