AV Receiver vs Integrated Amp for vinyl

V

vedabhyas

Audiophyte
I’m hearing from friends that the difference between running a turntable with a built in pre-amp through an AV receiver or a dedicated 2 channel integrated amp is minimal. I'm a noob with very little understanding of what I would or wouldn't gain by springing for a decent integrated amp. Is this true?

Mikado463

Mikado463

Audioholic Spartan
Generally speaking I would agree. IMO the choice comes down to the specs between the two (power, etc) and that correlates to your speaker / room needs.

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
Depends on the circuit in the particular unit, both are likely fine, but if worried about the circuit get an external phono pre-amp.

Mikado463

Mikado463

Audioholic Spartan
Depends on the circuit in the particular unit, both are likely fine, but if worried about the circuit get an external phono pre-amp.
if I read the Op correctly he is speaking of a TT with a built in phono-pre so neither an AVR or integrated 2 channel amp would require such.

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
if I read the Op correctly he is speaking of a TT with a built in phono-pre so neither an AVR or integrated 2 channel amp would require such.
True, I glazed over that a bit but still, if worried about how the tt sounds, maybe trying an external phono stage, or one buiit into the avr/integrated amp, would show whether there's a significant difference with whichever kind of unit used. As to the avr vs integrated amp, hard to just generalize just with a type of gear. Then again if you need typical avr functionality (multich, dac, bass management), most 2ch integrated amps don't provide such a feature set.

Swerd

Swerd

Audioholic Warlord