Audiophilic Discrimination?

T

Thomo16

Audiophyte
Hi guys, I'm new-ish here.

Do you guys think there is some form of discrimination against younger audiophiles? Recently, I've been trying to sell my sub and speakers. I have received some emails of interest, however, ONCE I tell them I'm a college student their replies completely stop. This has not happened on just one occasion too. I can recall at least 4 or 5 occasions. I understand that "kids" are more likely to play music and movies at higher volumes, especially college "kids" who are stereotypically known to party all day and night, but enough to completely lose interest seems ridiculous. I take great care of my audio system. I don't even let people touch my gear. I'm especially anal about my speaker position as anyone who knows me would know. >=D

I am reminded of one specific occasion at Ken Cranes. I went there to audition some B&W speakers (only place I know around). The only thing I got there were the glaring looks with eyes that blatantly say "don't touch anything." So, I just left. It's true younger "kids" don't have much money, but glaring at someone like that is just rude. Maybe I just had bad luck with my experiences. I'm sure there are great people out there who are more than willing to accommodate younger audiophiles.
I guess I'm just here to blow off some steam. :mad: But, I'm sure we can all agree some of these things are true.
I just want to sell my speakers and subwoofer. Are my goods inferior in someway?
Need money for school :(. If only it weren't for school, then there's nothing stopping me from upgrading my system instead :D

Incase anyone is wondering. My system consists of:
Jm Labs Cobalt 806S Bookshelf Speakers
Powered by Panasonic XR-57S receiver
and the power comes from my Hsu VTF-3 MK2 Subwoofer

ps. ignore anything that makes no sense, I'm just a bit mad. :p

J

jamie2112

Banned