Anything better for the price?

A

AngelusNexx

Junior Audioholic
Ok I finally figured out what I want. I get a 57% discount from polk because I work in retail and thats just too good to pass up.

I am thinking about getting...

2x RTI 8
2x RTI 6
1x CSI3

for $662 shipped.

I can get a velodyne VRP-1200 for $219

Is there anything in this same price range that would match the performance of these speakers?

Lastly I can upgrade both rti8 with rti10 for another $130. Is it worth it since I will have a sub?

There is nothing within 100 miles that carres the rti series so I can no longer compare. I have listened to them before though when Circuit City used to carry the rti series. So dont worry im not buying speakers I have never heard.

D

dillweed

Junior Audioholic
That is a nice system for the price. I have access to the same discount that you are referring to and as such know a lot about the RTI line.

Three suggestions:
1. Strongly Recommended --DON'T go with CSI3. Pay the extra $$ and go with CSI5. You never want to cheap out on the center channel it is far to important.

2. Are you going to have to buy speaker stands for the RTI 6? If so you might as well go with the RTI 8's for the rears as well.

3. Don't go with the RTI 10's (or the RTI 12's -- temping with discount). Stay with the RTI 8 as those matched with a sub will be just fine. I personally think the whole Polk Power Port lousy.

Hope this helps

A

AngelusNexx

Junior Audioholic
Do I really want my rears to be the same as my fronts though? And yes it is EXTREMELY tempting to get the rti12. Even more so when we used to get the 65% off. They used to be less than $300 per speaker. :cool:

D

dillweed

Junior Audioholic