Amp, subwoofer and two satellites - how to connect?

M

moomusic

Audiophyte
Hi everyone

I just got a Minx 212 system, and (as a complete noob), am at a loss on how to connect these to my Olive One player/amp.

My amplifier has both a line out and one set of right/left speaker connectors. They can both be used at the same time. The amp has no LFE or sub out.

Now, do connect the line-out or the speaker-out of my amp to the X200 subwoofer? And once the sub is connected, where do I connect the satellite speakers? To the sub or to the amp?

The one thing I have tried (which seemed the most logical thing to do judging from the manual) is to connect line-out of the amp to "input" of the X200 and the "output" of the X200 to the satellites. But this does not give me sound on the satellites.

Other combinations (not tried in fear of breaking something) are: line out of amp to X200 and speaker out of amp to satellites; or speaker-out to X200 "input", "output" on X200 to satellites.

Thanks for any help,
Toni

M

markw

Audioholic Overlord
Never connect speaker outputs to line inputs.

Connect the line outs of your amp to the line ins of your subwoofer.

It appears that you can also connect line outs from the sub to your power amplfier inputs. If so, you would want to do that. Check your manual. This may not be possible with your Olive.

You cannot connect speakers to the line out of the subwoofer since it has no amplification for them.

In any case, you would need to connect the satelitte speakers directly to your main amplifier. You cannot connect speakers to the line out of the subwoofer since it has no amplification for them.

Last edited:
ImcLoud

ImcLoud

Audioholic Ninja