Advice on speaker placement

C

choppaholic

Audiophyte
Hello all,

I am fairly new at this and I need some help please, I have read a lot of post on the net but I am more confused than ever and have some questions please.

I just bought a Yamaha RX-V677 receiver, Wharfedale 121 for the fronts and Wharfedale DX-1 HCP to build a 7.1 system.

The issue I have is placing the rear surrounds and after reading up a few post I seem to have the following options please see pictures attached ( Option 1 );
option 1.jpg

As my couch is right against the wall and there is no chance of moving it forward.

For the rear left & right surrounds

Mount the speakers on the side wall and stair rails 6ft of the ground but which direction

• Option A red arrow
  • Option B orange arrow
  • Option C green arrow

for the 2 Back surrounds how high should they be? should 1 put them couch level, if higher do they need to face them down in my case?

Or should I choose layout 2 please see picture (option 2).

option 2.jpg

In either case I will have a massive sound leak to the right of the room as the dining is open.

What’s the best option please, also is it worth the 7.1 in my layout or should I return the Wharfedale 121 and make it 5.1?

Or keep it and go 7.1 with front presence setup, sorry way to many question…..

Please help! I am lost, thanks in advance

M

markw

Audioholic Overlord
Your rear surrounds (red speakers) should be several feet behind your listening position. If you can't do that, I'd stick to a 5.1 system and option 3 but have the side speakers angled slightly towards the front of the room.

C

choppaholic

Audiophyte
Your rear surrounds (red speakers) should be several feet behind your listening position. If you can't do that, I'd stick to a 5.1 system and option 3 but have the side speakers angled slightly towards the front of the room.