Active vs Passive Speakers. Budget ~10k

S

spike99

Junior Audioholic
Hi.

I'm looking to upgrade my front (L+C+R) HT Speakers. Mostly do music 40% and 60% movies.

Researching speakers I have noticed some companies offer active speakers. I have read some sites that say they are better than separates or I should say passive speakers. Wanted to see what is the consensus if active speakers are really better or not.

I'm not an engineer, but I suppose it makes sense that an integrated amp in speaker cabinet would be better than an external AMP... and I suppose integrated AMP would be better designed for that particular speaker...

I have XPA5 for AMP and Integra DHC-80.3 and B&W CM Series (CM8). I also have JL Audio F112 for subs.

Thanks in advance.

AcuDefTechGuy

AcuDefTechGuy

Audioholic Jedi
I don't think internal/integrated amps are better at all. If the internal amps malfunction, you can't just use any amps; you would have to replace that amp, which might be an issue if parts become back-ordered.

That is why I prefer to use external amps for both speakers and subwoofers. I can use any amp to power my speakers and subwoofers.

It's simple to match amps with speakers - just use high quality amps and don't try to blow your ear drums. There is no magic to it.

Now in terms of active vs passive speaker systems, I only see the advantage of having the bass/woofers active because of mainly 2 reasons: 1) the bass probably requires 90% of the total power requirement and 2) it is very useful to be able to adjust the bass level without messing with any EQ. The midrange and especially tweeters do not require much power.

The question is, why do you want to change speakers? Does your system not sound very good?

S

spike99

Junior Audioholic
My system sounds good... I just thought that I can possibly do better.