DIY Loudspeakers: Can You Build "Better" Than Professional Designs?

C

Chu Gai

Audioholic Samurai
Dennis hardly makes money from Philharmonic Audio. In fact, the opposite is true. Dennis started Phil Audio for the good of the WA Philharmonic and the audio community. :)

Thank you, Dennis! :D
To which I'll say that if you're not in this business to make money you eventually won't be in this business. 'Course, maybe he's spectacularly well off and can afford to be philanthropic.

D

Dennis Murphy

Audioholic General
To which I'll say that if you're not in this business to make money you eventually won't be in this business. 'Course, maybe he's spectacularly well off and can afford to be philanthropic.
Hmmmmm. Philanthropic Audio. Maybe it's time for a name change. (BTW, I'm an economist by training, and both Adam Smith and I thank you for your comments about the virtues of specialization.)

KEW

KEW

Audioholic Overlord
He's said he thinks his speakers are possibly only bettered by moving up to the 10-15K range. If that's the case, then what is there to object in my assigning a total cost of $3900?
So, are you saying the estimated cost of the speakers (and labor used to make them) are reasonably determined by whether or not it works out to be a bargain? That is insane!

The objection is you are assigning a cost where there is none! You would be better off sticking with a statement like $1100 plus xx hours labor. That way labor is included. Only Jin can evaluate his hours into dollars.

For your own purposes, you may want to assign a $/hr rate to decide if you want to build your own, but it is strange that you think you can reasonably determine someone else's value system.

I know in evaluating acceptable risk, it is a well know principal that people are willing to accept much higher risk levels for their own leisure activities (smoking, motorcycles, etc) than the risk levels associated with their workplace or inherent in the environment.