UPS Out for Delivery...

AcuDefTechGuy

AcuDefTechGuy

Audioholic Jedi
Good News & Bad News

The good news is that I just finished installing my projector.:)

The bad news is that it only fills 110" of my 120" screen.:eek:

Oops. I guess my room is not long enough. It needs about 16 ft distance to fill a 120" screen, but my room is only about 15.5 ft long. Damn it!

So far the picture quality and brightness is outstanding. And I only have the brightness on economy (low light).:)

I would say the PQ of the projector is the same as my 62" Mitsubishi DLP 1080p HDTV. Of course, I'm not an expert.:D

Another mistake I made is the screen itself. I should have spent some money and gotten a Carada or better screen. During brighter scenes I could see some vertical lines on the left side of the screen. I guess when I buy a new house, I'll have to upgrade the screen!

So far my conclusion is that the Optoma HD81-LV has outstanding PQ and Brightness. However, placement is VERY Limited so it's definitely not for everyone.

I cannot recommend the Optoma screen. It sucks. It's a good thing I only paid $200.:D

I'll have to post some pics later.

Adam

Adam

Audioholic Jedi
Thanks for the update! I'm glad that you got it from UPS and got it all set-up. As for the screen, I guess that you'll be entering the next Carada contest that AH holds. ;)

[Image of Greg chuckling with glee. :D]

AcuDefTechGuy

AcuDefTechGuy

Audioholic Jedi
Thanks for the update! I'm glad that you got it from UPS and got it all set-up. As for the screen, I guess that you'll be entering the next Carada contest that AH holds. ;)

[Image of Greg chuckling with glee. :D]

Yes, Greg is evil. Pure evil I tell you!

He probably did some voodo magic mumbo jumbo and caused this whole fiasco!:eek:

Yeah, I will definitely wait for a new house with a better dedicated HT room and then I'll probably spend $2K on a bigger, better screen.

Midcow2

Midcow2

Banned