Help me spend 5k the right way. The tale of a suburban husband.

R

RyanMN

Audioholic Intern
Hi everyone. I am new to the forum but have been utilizing it for years. My hobbies include cooking, eating, remodeling, gaming, and most importantly over researching products to buy. I will think nothing of dropping $200 for liqueur and steaks just to come home and lose sleep over a $25 phone charger. That’s one of many reasons I am reaching out for your help.

Here is my deal. About 11 years ago I got my first “system.” It was an old Onkyo receiver and a 5.1 set of Polk TSi300,100s,ect. It wasn’t but a week later I got a call from a store manager from Circuit City. See I am a painting contractor and he happened to need some work done. Somehow I worked a deal out. He would trade me all his speakers for some painting work because he was upgrading. A day and a half later I was the proud new owner of some Mirage OMD-15s, OMD-5s, OMD-C1,and a Definitive tech Super Cube I. I returned my Polks and picked up a Yamaha RX-V2050 and a power conditioner.

Then I bought a new house and was under a budget. I scrapped together a few bits and pieces along the way. Things are going well for me now and I want to upgrade my system. The problem is people who are lucky if they have a sound bar come over to the house and rave about my “system” in front of my wife. This makes it difficult to justify spending 20+k on a new rig.

The good news is my main floor receiver is an old Onkyo without HDMI. I patched things together using optical cables and lots of button pushing. This was all in an attempt to convince my wife how responsible and thrifty I was. Finally the Onkyo went a little crazy one day and I proclaimed we should move the Yamaha upstairs and buy a new one for down stairs. Then she asks “how much is a nice receiver, like 5 grand or so?” Jackpot….