Yamaha Owners’ Thread (AVR, Pre-pro, Amp)

AcuDefTechGuy

AcuDefTechGuy

Audioholic Jedi
I’ve been a Denon user for a very long time. But when my Denon AVP-A1HDCI died after 8 years and the Denon NJ factory couldn’t fix it after 2 attempts, I decided to “defect” to the Yamaha camp during the summer of 2018.

Thus, I am relatively new to Yamaha AVR, pre-pros, and amps.

What are some advices you can think of that might help new Yamaha users?

What are some cool and handy features and apps that might enhance the enjoyment?

Or if you have questions, concerns, or general thoughts, let’s hear them!

highfigh

highfigh

Seriously, I have no life.
I’ve been a Denon user for a very long time. But when my Denon AVP-A1HDCI died after 8 years and the Denon NJ factory couldn’t fix it after 2 attempts, I decided to “defect” to the Yamaha camp during the summer of 2018.

Thus, I am relatively new to Yamaha AVR, pre-pros, and amps.

What are some advices you can think of that might help new Yamaha users?

What are some cool and handy features and apps that might enhance the enjoyment?

Or if you have questions, concerns, or general thoughts, let’s hear them!
What was wrong with the Denon?

I'm using a MusicCast WXC-50 as my preamp and it sounds good through the Parasound A23 and my speakers- using it straight, with no tweaks to the sound, at all.

AcuDefTechGuy

AcuDefTechGuy

Audioholic Jedi
YPAO Automatic Room Correction EQ

The first thing I did after hooking up my Yamaha CX-A5100 this summer was applying YPAO.

It's very straightforward just like applying Audyssey Room Correction.

And like with Audyssey and every room correction software I've listened to (ARC, Dirac, Lyngdorf),after comparing all the YPAO room EQ settings, I thought that no EQ at all (THROUGH mode) sounded the best.

So for me, YPAO THROUGH mode is my permanent setting.

I kept all the speaker/sub distances/levels, but I boosted the Subwoofer levels (just like I did with all the Denon I've used).