Yet Another Statements Build!

mattsk8

mattsk8

Full Audioholic
I’ve been a member here for about a year now. I’ve been into stereos for a long, long time. After building some tritrix so I could get my speaker building feet wet (first set I’ve ever built), TriTrix MTM TL Speaker Components And Cabinet Kit Pair 300-702 , and a lot of deliberating, I’ve decided to build the statements and a pair of ER18s. This thread is for the statements.

Being a complete noobe in the speaker building arena, I have to completely rely on the amazing knowledge of the guys on this fantastic site and it was the general consensus here that these are some pretty phenomenal speakers. Also being a complete noobe, hopefully anyone that’s as skeptical as I am can gain much wisdom from this build thread. I will do my best to document every inch of what I do to build and finish these; including material costs and tools used. Being an ex-cabinet maker, fortunately I have a pretty exhaustive collection of tools and woodworking skills. While I post the build progress, I’ll try to make notes of different ways to complete this build; not everyone will want to run out and buy thousands of dollars worth of tools to build a pair of speakers!

I’ve received all the speaker and crossover components already minus 2 of the capacitors that are on backorder but should be here any day, I just ordered what Curt Campbell recommended right from Parts Express and Madisound per this site: Statements. So far I have about $950.00 into these, that’s for all the speaker and crossover components as well as the ports.

I’m starting to get my bearings for the cabinets. The design on Curt’s site is ported through the bottom, but can be ported through the rear as well; the rear port is the design I will build.