Yamaha vintage amps & B&Ws

G

galaxian

Audiophyte
I am a newbie and desperately needing help :)

I have a ROTEL 1056 receiver and I love the way it sounds with my B&W 600 series. I have a 6.1 setup with 6034S3 (200atts) as the front, 602S3 (120watts) as the rears, LCR600 (150 watts) as the front centre and LCR60 (120 watts) as the rare center. I am currently working on upgrading my setup with a power amplifier. One of the options that caught my eye was using Yamaha vintage amps like MX-600, MX-1000, M-80 etc. They are much cheaper than the new Rotels, Parasounds, Krells etc and I have heard are equally good.

However I have some questions and unfortunately there is not too much info about these amps on the internet except some very positive reviews from some users without any/too much technical details. I have someunanswered questions and would really appreciate if someone can help me make a decison (maybe YamahaLuver himself if its my lucky day :):

1. I can see that most of these amps can connect up to 6 speakers but can these amplifiers drive all 6 speakers (A+B+C) at the same time (entire home cinema) ?

2. Would the RMS/WPC would still be 260 Watts, if we take MX-1000 as an example, with 6 speakers driven simultaneously?

3. Would it increase the distortion due to load if all 6 speakers are driven simultaneously?

I am also being careful as I don't want to burn my speakers with an overly powerful amp, as indicated by some. Based on the power requirement of my speakers what would be the way to go for me. Ideally I would love to drive all 6 speakers with a power amp but don't also want to end up with 3 Yammie amps, if possibe without sacrificing the sound too much. BTW I am located in Germany and getting these amps here is no problem. They keep on coming on ebay in all sizes and flavors.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

-galaxian

crashguy

crashguy

Audioholic