Wireless Router Options

E

EJ1

Audioholic Chief
I'm looking to purchase a wireless router for my 2 bedroom apartment with the only things accessing it being an XBOX 360, PS3, and a laptop. I prefer something that's not going to drop signal all of the time and one with enough signal to be able to access it from anywhere in the apartment. I'd like to keep it below $70 if possible. Should I stick with 802.11b/g or go with n? Or should I just buy any ol' one as they are all pretty similar. Thanks in advance.

PS - Not sure if this is the correct forum or not, so feel free to move it if needed.

MUDSHARK

MUDSHARK

Audioholic Chief
The Linksys router should fit your budget well. I have been using it for three years running two laptops (one hard wired to Roadrunner cable modem), and one PC in my sons room as well as my son using the PS#3 concurrently with no problems what so ever.

E

EJ1

Audioholic Chief
The Linksys router should fit your budget well. I have been using it for three years running two laptops (one hard wired to Roadrunner cable modem), and one PC in my sons room as well as my son using the PS#3 concurrently with no problems what so ever.
What's the specific model? Is it b/g/n? I noticed some of their newer routers have internal antennas, perhaps to keep them sleek looking?

unreal.freak

unreal.freak

Senior Audioholic
ive been using This one for a while and it works well. I sit around 55ft away and the signal has to travel through 4 interior walls to get to my usual work area. it supports our 2 laptops well.

If you get it, follow the directions to the "t" when installing it. Hope this helps.

Peace,
Tommy

Last edited by a moderator:

Senior Audioholic
I would have to second the Linksys, the wrt54G or wrt54GS to be exact.

Then upgrade the firmware to DD-WRT

DD-WRT kicks ***!

Stupid bad word filter even changed the URL. Replace the *** with a s s

MUDSHARK

MUDSHARK

Audioholic Chief
Wireless g broad band router with 4 port switch
Model wrt54g