which bookshelf speakers?

S

scaesic

Audiophyte
Hello, I'm new here!

I'm looking for some advice on speakers to pair with my NAD 320. I'm new to the audiophile space, but have a strong grounding technically, as an engineer.

My only requirement is that the speakers should be bookshelf, as i am space limited. Ideally they would have a wooden finish. My budget is strictly limited to £1000.

I've been looking at Paradigm studio reference 20, but in this budget there are hundreds of alternatives, and i find it tough to differentiate without much experience.

What are your recommendations to get started and in getting great sound production from my NAD?

BoredSysAdmin

BoredSysAdmin

Audioholic Slumlord
Hello, I'm new here!

I'm looking for some advice on speakers to pair with my NAD 320. I'm new to the audiophile space, but have a strong grounding technically, as an engineer.

My only requirement is that the speakers should be bookshelf, as i am space limited. Ideally they would have a wooden finish. My budget is strictly limited to £1000.

I've been looking at Paradigm studio reference 20, but in this budget there are hundreds of alternatives, and i find it tough to differentiate without much experience.

What are your recommendations to get started and in getting great sound production from my NAD?
£1000? Are you converting your local currency to pounds or are you actually from UK? I get the vibe that in any case you are from the other side of Atlantic ocean :)
That brings the question - why in the world you want imported speakers ?

Your Nad is 40wpc/8ohm and depends on how loud you'd like to play you might need to limit the search to more efficient speakers

One of better bang for the buck speaker makes across the ocean is Wharfedale - I can't recommend specific model, since I'm not familiar with local prices/current model line positioning.

Other great UK speaker producers: Linn, ATC, Monitor Audio, KEF,Quad and Mordaunt-Short just to name a few good ones

S