What's best for...me..Me....ME!!?

B

Buff

Enthusiast
I'll do what the GROUP advises.

I'm new to high end audio.

I bought a MATANTZ 7002MKII at Best Buy open box for $1800 with tax and extended warranty.

I am presently using a CROWN XLS 1502 amp with XLR cables running the power. The CROWN has 300watts/channel.

I have a set of POLK rtia9s. They need MASSIVE power to sound good.

Here's the "PROBLEM"

1. I don't listen to 11 channel music.

2. I don't watch many-if any-blockbuster movies and dont plan on it. I rarely watch TV. But I DO watch an occasional movie and have other HDMI devices hooked up e.g. bluray player, Xbox.

3. I live in a MIDDLE TOWNHOME unit. The walls are very well insulated. But I cant CRANK THE WATTS even if I wanted to.

Soooo...

I feel I "over bought" this preamp and will never use 99% of what it's made for.

I have a set of POLK rtia9s that I like. But if I get more speakers then I may get something better as speakers are the best bang for the buck when it comes to audio output.

I am demoing a CLASSD AUDIO AMP from Tom in Anaheim, CA. It has 300 watts/channel and is $995.

QUESTION is What model of preamp could I get by with AND STILL have great music and watch my movies?. Is an HDMI 2.2 amp, as the 7002MKII overkill for a preamp for me, when I could save $$$ and buy the MARANTZ 7002 (NO HDMI 2.2 and 24/192 audio conversion vs. 32/192 in the 7002MKII I have at present and the HDMI 2.2) or a different preamp and use the saved $$ to buy better speakers and/or ANOTHER sound setup in another room?.

Thanks
Mike

BoredSysAdmin

BoredSysAdmin

Audioholic Slumlord
Rule of thumb - invest 70-80% of budget into speakers. Polk RTi/A9 are decent enough performers (but not great for their price point).
You would do much better to replace your speakers instead of replacing (excellent) amp.
I think that You did overspend on pre-amp. Mid-Tier AVR with pre-outs, such as MaTanz 5010 or higher would do the trick.