What would be the best 5.1 Set-Up for our 'difficult' livingroom?

• Thread starter Antiekepoepdoos
  • Start date
A

Antiekepoepdoos

Audiophyte
Hi everyone,

First of all, I am a huge noob when it comes to home theater and/or surround sets, apologies in advance if I am asking beginner questons (not an English native by the way). Hope that I've come to the right place for some tips and advise.

I just moved into a new home and want to invest in a new home theater set, preferable a 5.1 Set-Up. the problem however is that I am not sure how to go about things as the room is not perfectly setup for a surround system. I have not purchased any system as of yet and am open to any ideas.

I have attached a picture of our livingroom below.
As you can see we currently have our telivision positioned next to our fireplace (the yellowish box to the left) which (I know) is not ideal. The fireplace is made from concrete (covers the floor to the ceiling). Also, there is a door in the middle of the room to enter the living room (forgot to add this to the image) which is positioned to the right (about 1m) of our couch.
Living room.png

As mentioned, I am a beginner and have absolutely no experience when it comes to installing or setting up a home theater set or surround system. I would love to have a good 5.1 Set-Up based on the above layout, but can Imagine that this is going to be a challenge.
The first problem would be the 3 front speakers. The middle speaker can be positioned below our telivision, but the two other speakers are going to be a major issue. We can put the left speaker on the righst side of the fireplace, and the right speaker next to the right of our telivision (at the same height), but i doubt that this setup is even an option.