Vizio TV Not Turning On...Blinks At Me. :(

Discussion in 'GENERAL AV Discussions' started by afterlife2, Dec 29, 2011.

  1. afterlife2 Audioholic Spartan

    afterlife2
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    5,503
    Likes Received:
    1,820
    Location:
    In a Small Space.
    Hope your holidays were great! I have a question about the main board of my Vizio TV. It was working great until recently. It won't turn on and only blinks the Vizio logo in orange. I opened it up to look around and I found no blown fuses or anything. I'm thinking it must be the main board. I'm posting a couple of pics to see if you guys see anything that I don't. The model no. is Vizio SV37OXVT. Please let me know what you all think. Thanks!

    [​IMG]
  2. afterlife2 Audioholic Spartan

    afterlife2
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    5,503
    Likes Received:
    1,820
    Location:
    In a Small Space.
    Whoops that is not the Mainboard. Here It Is. These attached pics are from a website. I want to know if you see a fuse on the upper right(by the yellow sticker)? It looks like there is one. I closed the TV back up, so I will check later.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  3. markw Audioholic Overlord

    markw
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Messages:
    11,236
    Likes Received:
    3,051
    Location:
    Joisey and Texas
    With all due respect, if you don't know which bopard you're looking at, don't you think any further kerfitzing might be left to a pro?

    After all, technonogy has advanced to such a state where the days you could pull the tubes from the TV and use the tube tester at your local Radio Shack to potentially identify a problem are long gone.
  4. agarwalro Audioholic Ninja

    agarwalro
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,033
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    +1 what he said.
  5. afterlife2 Audioholic Spartan

    afterlife2
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    5,503
    Likes Received:
    1,820
    Location:
    In a Small Space.
    Yes I understand Mark, but If I can do it myself I'll be saving alot. I won't mess with anything unless it's easy to do. The layout looks simple, but with help even better.:D
  6. agarwalro Audioholic Ninja

    agarwalro
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,033
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Did you try a hard reset?
  7. afterlife2 Audioholic Spartan

    afterlife2
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    5,503
    Likes Received:
    1,820
    Location:
    In a Small Space.
    Yes reset 30 second. Unplugged everything from the TV too. No go.
  8. agarwalro Audioholic Ninja

    agarwalro
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,033
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Since your visual inspection yielded nothing, get a tech to identity the issue.That symptom sounds like a classic case of capacitor failure on the power board (first pic). Look closely at the caps for bulging or leaking one.
    • Like Like x 1
  9. afterlife2 Audioholic Spartan

    afterlife2
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    5,503
    Likes Received:
    1,820
    Location:
    In a Small Space.
    Nothing leaking or bulging on the power board.
  10. timoteo Audioholic General

    timoteo
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    249
    Location:
    Whittier, CA
    From what ive read on Vizio, they are kind of a disposable tv. You get them at a low cost, get decent performance out of them but when they go their gone. Thats not a slam on Vizio i actually like their newer models. But i think thats how they are designed to be. I listen to podcasts such as HTGuys & AVRant. This topic has been discussed before. Its worth taking in to see if it can be fixed at price thats worth it. But i wouldnt be suprised if its nothing more than a wall ornament unfortunately.

    But keep us informed if you find out whats wrong. Hole you get her up & runnin soon. Or use this as an excuse for a new 65" Panny!! :)
    • Like Like x 1
  11. afterlife2 Audioholic Spartan

    afterlife2
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    5,503
    Likes Received:
    1,820
    Location:
    In a Small Space.
    timoteo It's a shame if I can't fix it myself. I'm sure to fix it will be at least $200 or more, which I rather invest on another TV and this time with an extended warranty.:) The Vizio has a beautiful picture too. I really wanted a Viera TV. When I was on the road most technicians highly recommended the Panasonic TV's. They were a little out of my budget last year, but I did a search and the Viera 40 inch 60hz(My Vizio has 120Hz) has come down in price: Amazon.com: Panasonic VIERA TC-L37U3 37-Inch 1080p 60 Hz LCD HDTV: Electronics
    I live in a studio so the 65inch won't fit.:D
  12. indulger Audioholic

    indulger
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    Madison, MS
    I love blinking lights. I got a free 42in Sharp LCD TV from my office because it had a blinking light. Took it home, researched on line, unplugged it held a couple of buttons in, plugged it back in and it worked. Replaced a 29 inch Vizio I had in my home office. Looks real good :D
  13. agarwalro Audioholic Ninja

    agarwalro
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,033
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    It does seem like electrons these days are being programmed to fail just outside the manufacturer warranty period.

    It'll probably cost $100 just to troubleshoot and get an estimate. The final tally depends on the additional repair cost, which could be an additional $25–250. Walmart has a 42" 1080p Vizio for $300. Might just be the best route to take.
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Adam Audioholic Jedi

    Adam
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    32,076
    Likes Received:
    11,912
    Location:
    Tucson, Arizona
    I just did a quick search for "vizio blinking logo" and found some stuff - maybe useful, maybe not.

    From a review on Amazon.com, try doing a memory clear to reset to the factory defaults. Can you get into the System Menu to do that?
    Adam,
  15. afterlife2 Audioholic Spartan

    afterlife2
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    5,503
    Likes Received:
    1,820
    Location:
    In a Small Space.
    indulger that was funny I'm glad you got it to work and free is always nice too.:D

    agarwalro I think If I don't get my Vizio to work I'm looking at Panasonic Viera which is what I really wanted. LASTLY TLC TV from amazon:Amazon.com: TCL L40FHDF12TA 40-Inch 1080p 60 Hz LCD HDTV with 2-Year Warranty: Electronics ) I do have a 22 inch Vizio which is going strong, so far...

    Adam it won't turn on at all. Just blinks the Vizio Logo. There is a soldered fuse that is on the power board, so I may buy that and see if that is the issue. Will cost me $8.00, so not a big deal.
  16. Nomo Audioholic Samurai

    Nomo
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,833
    Likes Received:
    870
    Location:
    Wisconsin, Oshkosh, Wearin' the Fox Hat :)
    Nomo,
  17. afterlife2 Audioholic Spartan

    afterlife2
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    5,503
    Likes Received:
    1,820
    Location:
    In a Small Space.
    Nomo If it goes back down to $260 I might jump on it. How long have you had the TCL for? Your Pros and Cons?
  18. markw Audioholic Overlord

    markw
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Messages:
    11,236
    Likes Received:
    3,051
    Location:
    Joisey and Texas
    While not the cheapest, we've had good luck with Toshiba LCDs. Several local retailers and Best Buy/Walmart have them for good prices quite often.

    Good luck with the fuse, though.
  19. Nomo Audioholic Samurai

    Nomo
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,833
    Likes Received:
    870
    Location:
    Wisconsin, Oshkosh, Wearin' the Fox Hat :)
    I bought it on Black Friday got a few days later ($188), so I've only had it a month.
    I had low expectations for it. I was simply looking to replace a 24" CRT.
    Given that it's only getting a SD Dishnet signal, I was extremely impressed by it after plugging it in.
    The black levels and sharpness are very good. The picture adjustment options are more than adequate. The remote sucks, and I'm having trouble getting the TV2 Dish remote to operate it.

    All in all it's a fantastic bedroom TV for the money. Currently, last I checked, Amazon had it for $250. I'd still pay that.

    I'm not saying I'd completely trust it, or the larger versions, as a long term primary TV. But it does what I've asked it to do far beyond expectations.
    Nomo,
  20. agarwalro Audioholic Ninja

    agarwalro
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,033
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    I presented the Vizio to keep the budget in the ballpark of repair costs. IMO, spring for the Panny.

    The only TV I purchased for myself was a 720p Panasonic pro plasma (in 2008), and I like its PQ more than the 1080p Samsung LED TV (in 2010) that I bought for my mother-in-law. (Comparing PQ calibrated by me using DVE, they are both exemplary, but the Panny rules without contest.)

Share This Page

  • EMPTek.com
  • BlueJeansCable.com
  • SVS Sound Subwoofers
  • Experience the Martin Logan Montis
  • CEDIA