VHS recording to DVD

O

Old Movie Fan

Audiophyte
Hello, everyone!
I am brand new to all of this and after reading all of your threads and postings I joined knowing that someone out there could help a helpless, newbie like me.
My problem is this:
I have an old VHS tape of one of my favorite shows and I would like to record it to a DVD but I haven't the first clue where to start. I have read other forums and I'm quite overwhelmed at what I need to do step by step to preserve this show onto DVD.
I have a DVD burner on my computer and a pretty good VCR but from that point I don't know where to go. If anyone out there can help me (keeping in mind, I know nothing about how to do this) I would greatly appreciate your help!
Thanks a bunch!

M

MDS

Audioholic Spartan
To convert VHS to DVD you basically need to capture the video output from the VCR, convert it to a digital video format (usually either DV or AVI), and then burn a DVD.

There are many video capture devices on the market and many of them come bundled with video editing and dvd burning software. Here is one article that mentions just one product: http://www.pcworld.com/article/id,125517-page,1/article.html

Adam

Adam

Audioholic Jedi
Welcome to the forum!

Another option is to get a consumer DVD recorder like this one, or a combo VHS-DVD recorder like this one (both are just examples of what's out there). A lot of the VHS-DVD combos have one-button recording to dub a VHS tape to a DVD.

stratman

stratman

Audioholic Ninja
Hello, everyone!
I am brand new to all of this and after reading all of your threads and postings I joined knowing that someone out there could help a helpless, newbie like me.
My problem is this:
I have an old VHS tape of one of my favorite shows and I would like to record it to a DVD but I haven't the first clue where to start. I have read other forums and I'm quite overwhelmed at what I need to do step by step to preserve this show onto DVD.