Universal DVD player HELP!

H

Hoikensnogin

Enthusiast
Hi all,

I'm new to this post. Love the website, tons of great info. I need some advice on universal DVD players.

I've done lots and lots of reading. It seems that the Denon DVD-2900 is a really good solid bet. Seems like the DVD-2200 is almost as good but you save some $$.

I'm mostly interested in sound quality. I'm working on building my HT. I'll spend about $4000 in sound, but only $1100 on the TV. I've just bought Klipsch RF-7's for the front, RF-3's for the rear (crazy?). Still need center channel, sub, receiver, and DVD player.

Here's my question: If I get a good receiver (looking at a used Denon AVR 4800 or 5800, or maybe Onkyo TX-DS898), do I need to spend a lot of money on the DVD player. I can use the DAC's in the receiver to give me excellent sound quality...why pay for expensive DAC's in the DVD player??

I do want a universal player....MP3's, SACD's, DVD-A's, CD's, etc. Why not buy as used Denon 1600. It's supposed to be an excellent DVD player, and my receiver's DAC's should result in excellent sound...right????

I'm new to all this, so eagerly await my education :D

Rob Babcock

Rob Babcock

I'm afraid it's not quite that easy. While the DACs in the receiver will be doing the "heavy lifting" with CDs & DVD's, a normal Toslink or Coax will not pass a digital signal from SACD or DVD-A. No normal player can; for that you have to step up to a newer player & receiver with Firewire/Denon Link/I-Link, etc.

I can strongly endorse the DVD-2200. I've been very pleased with mine, and while it may give up some to the DVD-2900, it's a good player in it's own right. In fact, TAS liked it more than the '2900. Certainly if you can afford it the spendier is nice, but I sure wouldn't spend a grand on one with the new models set to come out in a few months.

H

Hoikensnogin

Enthusiast
:confused: