Trouble connecting Toslink Optical cable

Discussion in 'Amps, Pre-Pros & Receivers' started by Taskmaster, Dec 19, 2006.

  1. Taskmaster Enthusiast

    Taskmaster
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Just got a Yamaha RX-V2500 and hooked it all up. I had component and rcas running from my HD cable to the receiver. Decided to upgrade the audio to Toslink. The cable plugs into my cable box with no problems but I can't get the other end to go into the reciever. I tried the other optic inputs but it does not seem to fit there either.

    Any suggestions? I am sure I am not doing something basic.
  2. Hi Ho Audioholic Samurai

    Hi Ho
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    2,393
    Likes Received:
    341
    Are you sure you removed the protective caps on both the cable and the receiver? Is it possible that you bought an optical cable with a standard toslink connector on one end and a mini toslink on the other?
  3. Taskmaster Enthusiast

    Taskmaster
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Hmm... ok, I figured I was making a silly mistake. So the little clear plastic caps on the end of the cable must be removed? Isn't the plastic door/cover on the radio designed to open when you insert plug or do I need to do something to remove it also?
  4. Jacksmyname Audioholic

    Jacksmyname
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    11
    Optical jacks will very often have a small plastic "plug" inserted to protect them. The plug must be removed. There's no "door" on the optical jack.
    Your cable may very well have clear protective caps. Just make sure you're not pulling the connector itself off.
  5. Taskmaster Enthusiast

    Taskmaster
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Thanks for the replies. All is working now. Digital sound is nice!!

    Can't believe the package the cables come in don't have something on them that says. "Remove protective caps before use". Guess they expect people to be smarter than me. :( :D
  6. bongobob Audioholic

    bongobob
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    5
    From my experiance optical jacks either have spring loaded doors or plugs to keep out dust......
  7. gmichael Audioholic Spartan

    gmichael
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,381
    Likes Received:
    1,732
    Location:
    Winter Garden FL
    Hey Taskmaster,

    Welcome to AH,

    Glad you found out what was wrong.
    Don't tell anyone, but I made the same mistake with my first toshlink.
  8. j_garcia Audioholic Jedi

    j_garcia
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    25,923
    Likes Received:
    5,556
    Many do, but some don't. The ones that don't ususally come with a small plug that you leave in there if you aren't using it.

Share This Page

  • EMPTek.com
  • BlueJeansCable.com
  • SVS Sound Subwoofers
  • Experience the Martin Logan Montis
  • CEDIA