Total Newb Questions

G

guggas

Audioholic Intern
So I'd like to buy some new speakers, and possibly a reciever, for my living room, but I know very little about audio equipment and I'm looking for some advice. I currently have a 42" panasonic plasma hdtv, a bluray player, a Pioneer VSX-505s reciever, (circa 1996, a hand me down from my father-in-law) and some big Sony stereo speakers from the early '90s.

I would like to improve my sound system. I would like a setup that is good for both watching movies and listening to music.
I have been looking at this set of speakers:
Energy 5.1 Take Classic Home Theater System (Set of Six, Black) at Amazon for $399

They seem to get pretty good reviews and seem like they would be good for my purposes, however these would be at the high end of my budget. I assume the reciever I have would not push these speakers to thier full potential, but I was hoping to maybe buy these speakers, and get some improvement over what I currently have and then mayber upgrade the reciever later on down the road when funds permit.

So my first question is: Will my reciever work ok? Or would it be totally rediculous to use those speakers, even temporarily with that reciever?
Thanks

Adam

Adam

Audioholic Jedi
Welcome to the forum!

Upgrading incrementally is what a lot of people do, and starting with speakers is a good choice. Your VSX-505 should work just fine with those Energy speakers. Although I didn't find a spec sheet on that receiver, those speakers have an 8-ohm impedance rating, so they shouldn't be a difficult load for that receiver.

I think that you will notice a big difference in surround sound when you do get a chance to upgrade your receiver. I can say that going from Pro Logic to Dolby Digital was a huge improvement for me, and you can get into the even newer lossless audio codecs (like Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD MA) along with auto calibration in receivers that cost $300 or less.

Enjoy your new speakers! Those look like nice ones.