Toby Speakers in Dallas-Any comments?

B

BuddTX

Audioholic
The first time I heard a "real" high end stereo system, I was in College. It was 1979-1981, and I was at a party at my Band Director's house, and I heard someone playing the guitar, and this guitar sounded soo sweet.

I went from room to room, looking for the person playing the guitar (this was a party for band students, so I figured someone had to be playing the guitar.

Turned out, that the sound was coming from a stero, and the speakers were from a brand called TOBY Speakers

A couple of years later, I found out they had a Houston retail outlet, and they sold like 3 speaker systems, and that was it. They had like 10 other pairs of speakers to compare, and, of course, the Toby's sounded the best.

I didn't buy any because I was a poor college student.

But, my question is, has anyone heard of these speakers, anyone have any first hand experience with the home speakers?

Are they still conidered awesom, are they great for the price? Tell me what you know about them?

Thanks.

Shinerman

Shinerman

Senior Audioholic
I have never heard them before but from everything I have read in the past, they are considered to be good speakers. I have never really heard anything negative about them. It would probably be worthwhile to go give them a listen. Hell, take a trip up to Ft. Worth and maybe you can speak to Toby himself about them.

I am going to Ft. Worth this weekend to help my inlaws with a move. I think I might stop in and listen to them, after seeing this post. I go by their shop all the time when I am up there. If I do, I'll post my impressions.

Shinerman

B

BuddTX

Audioholic
I've been temped to drive up to Dallas and listen to these speakers!

Please let me know your impressions.