Suggestions Welcomed!!

D

dmonty83

Audiophyte
I have some friends of mine that put two Insignia (8 ohm) outdoor speakers by their pool. They are running them into the house via 18ga speaker wire at about 75ft. They are connected to a very inexpensive Sony mini shelf system.

I'm not a sound expert by any means...

They can get decent sound from the outdoor speakers at low volume. Once you turn up the volume they sound horrible. I'm guessing the speaker impedance is too high? The catch is the still want to use the speakers that came with the mini system for inside.

I need a solution that would allow them to use both sets of speakers and still sound decent.

Space is very limited...

Thank you for any help in advance!

David

S

shadyJ

Speaker of the House
Staff member
I wouldn't run 18 AWG wire for runs longer than 10 ft. For an 8 ohm resistance at 75 ft, you will need 10 AWG wire. Read this. A better solution would be to just get a boombox for the pool, in my opinion.

G

Grador

Audioholic Field Marshall
I wouldn't run 18 AWG wire for runs longer than 10 ft. For an 8 ohm resistance at 75 ft, you will need 10 AWG wire. Read this. A better solution would be to just get a boombox for the pool, in my opinion.
Normally this is true, but with cheap speakers outdoors I rather doubt that the wire is the issue.

There are two things I think are more likely: My best guess is that the amp in the cheap bookshelf setup is awful. I had one of those a while ago and when I plugged the cheap bookshelf speakers that came with it into a real amp they sounded much better [though still not good]. Alternately you could be pushing the inexpensive insignia speakers past their limit.

BoredSysAdmin

BoredSysAdmin

Audioholic Slumlord
you could get away with regular 12 AWG lamp cord and not notice much difference. 18 AWG at 75ft introduces significant noise to the music,
however that said if they sound horrible as you describe, I doubt the issue is solely with cable gauge.