Subwoofer plate amp suggestions

K

Ketsueki

Audioholic Intern
im new to home audio and ive been looking for a cheap subwoofer amplifier and i was thinking that a plate amp is probably the most inexpensive way to go i was looking on parts express for what they had and i found they had 3 amps for around 100 dollers that are around the watts im looking for i have no experience with home amps nor do i know any of these brands so i hoping some one who has more experience then me could tell me some info on these brands or direct me to the best choice. the bash 300 watt amp (http://www.************.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?Partnumber=300-750) the dayton 240watt amp (http://www.************.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&Partnumber=300-804) and the A250 amp with bass boost (http://www.************.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&Partnumber=300-796) i was considering one of these, however i dont know any one who has any personal experience with any of them, i was looking at the bash amp and i didnt like the looks of it considering its shipping weight is only 3.75 lbs, considering the other two weight is over 12 lbs and i was considering the A250, but it has bass boost and i was wondering if that would effect the sound quality any, i was thinking about getting the dayton because it doesnt have the boost but the A250 has better features and if the boost isnt going to make that big of a difference then i was going to go with that, but id like some other input on my thoughts, any information would be great thanks guys

tomd51

tomd51

Audioholic General
BASH makes for an excellent amp, so I wouldn't necessarily go by weight. In fact, I plan on building my own DIY sub in the near future w/the 300w BASH amp you mentioned.

BTW, if you use 'parts-express' with the dash in between parts and express, it won't blank out the URL... -TD

Last edited:
jonnythan

jonnythan

Audioholic Ninja
I use a 240W Dayton amp on my sonotube (12" Dayton Reference High Fidelity driver) and it sounds pretty darn nice to me.