Sub woofer set up for HT and to listen to 2 stereo music

H

hondo164

Enthusiast
I thought this would be easy, this is my first attempt at HT but then I had to go do some more research. I need some help please.

I am setting up a HT arrangement w/ a Bic Acoustech H-100 and a Yamaha RX-v661 in a 5.1 setup and also have the sub play out in stereo mode when listen to music.

I had read that connecting the single sub output jack may not be the best why to set up the sub because when listening to music in stereo mode a signal may not go to sub out jack, Also the sub woofer output jack is low-pass filtered that blocks sounds above a given frequency from getting out of the sub out jack and would degrade the sound

I also am trying to find out if the the Yamaha RX-v661 has a setting so that it will allow you the choice for the the sub to work or not work when in 2 channel mode? I am setting up a 5.1 HT. I would like to have it on so that when I listen to music I get the bass sound.

My set up is:

BIC h-100 sub woofer
Polk R300 Tower fronts
polk r 150 satellites
Polk CSR center channel

Adam

Adam

Audioholic Jedi
I had read that connecting the single sub output jack may not be the best why to set up the sub because when listening to music in stereo mode a signal may not go to sub out jack, Also the sub woofer output jack is low-pass filtered that blocks sounds above a given frequency from getting out of the sub out jack and would degrade the sound
hondo164, welcome to the forum. I'll see if I can help. Things depend on how you set up the bass management in your Yamaha. Your receiver will have the option to set the front/rear/center speakers as "large" (full-range, so bass is not sent to the sub) or "small" (which directs bass below the cross-over point to the sub). You should be able to set those up independently (e.g. fronts are large, center and rears are small).