H

hoover

Audiophyte
As you will see, I have no experience in this so it may be a really stupid mistake.
I have installed a 5.1 speaker system in my home. To test it out, I hooked up my (new) Yamaha RX-V1400. The ONLY thing hooked up to the receiver are the speakers (5), subwoofer and FM antenna.
I first started my finding an FM station. All speakers worked, but chalked up the background hiss to bad reception.
Next, I used the Setup routine (with microphone for auto setup). All I get is hiss. I can cycle thru each speaker correctly (i.e. each speaker is getting a signal), but, again, all I get is hiss. When I try to use the auto setup the system stops at the first speaker (hissing)...it does not produce a test tone.
What did I screw up?
Thanks.

K

Krazykaj

Junior Audioholic
hoover said:
As you will see, I have no experience in this so it may be a really stupid mistake.
I have installed a 5.1 speaker system in my home. To test it out, I hooked up my (new) Yamaha RX-V1400. The ONLY thing hooked up to the receiver are the speakers (5), subwoofer and FM antenna.
I first started my finding an FM station. All speakers worked, but chalked up the background hiss to bad reception.
So you get music from a radio station, just with bad reception, your amp is working ok then?

hoover said:
Next, I used the Setup routine (with microphone for auto setup). All I get is hiss. I can cycle thru each speaker correctly (i.e. each speaker is getting a signal), but, again, all I get is hiss.
It sounds like, when you are setting up the speakers you are getting the 'pink' noise, which is prefectly normal, that is what the amp is supposed to produce, so you can measure the level of sound from each speaker and make sure they are all equal. it is perfectly normal :)

hoover said:
When I try to use the auto setup the system stops at the first speaker (hissing)...it does not produce a test tone.
What did I screw up?
Thanks.