speaker tower project

A

augugkemp

Audiophyte
Hi guys I am new to the whole speaker building DIY thing and I would like, if possible to get some advice on the following. I have been given some car speaker specifically audi a4 quarto 1999 speakers (made by bose). I am now wondering if it's possible to make a speaker with them. If so what components would I need and what kind of cabinet dimensions I would need etc. But the most important question is what are drivers and crossover and if they are necessary for building speakers
Thanks August

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
Are those complete speakers or just single drivers? A driver for an example is a tweeter handling high frequencies, or a woofer handling low frequencies. Car speakers are often coaxial designs, providing both a woofer and tweeter with some passive crossover components. I didn't watch it, but this seems to be on the subject.

Do you have any specs on what you have other than the car they were removed from? Do you see a model number on the back? Maybe pics front and back would help.

If you make a speaker with separate woofer and tweeter drivers you need a crossover designed for not only the drivers' individual specs but also the specifics of the box they are going to be placed in. If you want to get into diy you would likely be better off starting with a known design (with specific drivers, designed crossover and specified box).

Also try the diy subforum here at Audioholics, or AVSforum.com, or diyaudio.com.

A

augugkemp

Audiophyte
I would rather prefer to minimize my costs and reuse the speakers I already have as making speakers is only a side project. But as I said my knowledge is really basic that's why I am looking for advice.

Here's some photos of all 4 different speakers I have taken out. However, the pictures is all I have .

I would be really grateful if you could help me out some more

THANKS A LOT !!

Attachments

• 368 KB Views: 183
  • 335.7 KB Views: 169