Sony STR-DH540 or Marantz SR5002?

DSound

DSound

Enthusiast
Hello.....

I'm a new member here & I'm putting together my home theater surround system.. I'm very new to this audio world so here is what I'm facing.

I purchased a brand new Sony STR-DH540 from amazon but now I have someone who is offering me a Marantz SR5002 for the same price but of course used.. Which one will serve me better?

My speakers are LR (Klipsch F20) center (Klipsch C20) surround (Klipsch B20) and the sub is Bic F12.

Devices going into the receiver via hdmi (PS3, Apple TV, sony Bluray player)

Thank you for all your input.

Regards,
David

zieglj01

zieglj01

Audioholic Spartan
For the Marantz, I would do some tests with the HDMI first - if it works fine
then buy it. If the person will not allow you to do the test - then skip it.

DSound

DSound

Enthusiast
Thank you I appreciate the answers.. I read The Marantz 5002 isn't native Dolby True HD or DTS Master Audio decoding. Is that going to be a problem or impact the audio quality?

zieglj01

zieglj01

Audioholic Spartan
Thank you I appreciate the answers.. I read The Marantz 5002 isn't native Dolby True HD or DTS Master Audio decoding. Is that going to be a problem or impact the audio quality?
If you want the latest technology, it can be a problem to you
There may be a reason, why the person is selling it.

DSound

DSound

Enthusiast
Just looking for the most decent sound for both my movies and music.. He is selling it because he upgraded his entire system. (According to him) I did ask and told him I would need to test it 1st and he had no problem with that. Just making sure it's not a downgrade from the sony I bought.

j_garcia

j_garcia

Audioholic Jedi