Should I get a Sherwood receiver?

G

giantslayer

Enthusiast
I am a newbie to the world home audio. I basically want a pretty good system to listen to music with (I'm upgrading from crappy laptop speakers). My budget is pretty tight. After a few posts and looking through the archives, here's what I'm thinking of getting:
BIC Venturi DV62 speakers (bidding on a pair on ebay right now)

For the receiver, I was thinking of maybe getting a Sherwood of some sort. Is that a good move? My top priorities are being cheap (<$100 shipped; I'm planning to buy off ebay), and having as good sound quality as possible. I'd like to keep open the option of getting a sub later. The stereo Sherwoods don't have a sub output, but the surround ones do. However, they're all rated down to only 40Hz RMS. (Correct me if I'm wrong, but don't most subs go below that?)

Then I suppose that after I get speakers and a receiver, I'll need cables, right? Can I just go down to radio shack and buy what they tell me to buy?

Buckeyefan 1

Buckeyefan 1

Audioholic Ninja
giantslayer said:
I am a newbie to the world home audio. I basically want a pretty good system to listen to music with (I'm upgrading from crappy laptop speakers). My budget is pretty tight. After a few posts and looking through the archives, here's what I'm thinking of getting:

For the receiver, I was thinking of maybe getting a Sherwood of some sort. Is that a good move? My top priorities are being cheap (<$100 shipped; I'm planning to buy off ebay), and having as good sound quality as possible. I'd like to keep open the option of getting a sub later. The stereo Sherwoods don't have a sub output, but the surround ones do. However, they're all rated down to only 40Hz RMS. (Correct me if I'm wrong, but don't most subs go below that?)

Then I suppose that after I get speakers and a receiver, I'll need cables, right? Can I just go down to radio shack and buy what they tell me to buy?